Member Area
News and Upcoming Events


 If you are...

Click here, sign in, and 

complete your profile today!

Sign Up

Sign Up here to be added to Our Distribution List

Captcha Image

Our Website Sponsors

Social Media

2011 International Business Woman of the Year Awards
10th Anniversary Event 

MIAMI – The Organization of Women in International Trade (OWIT) – South Florida Chapter held its 10th annual INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS WOMAN OF THE YEAR AWARDS on November 1, 2011at the Intercontinental Hotel in Doral, Florida to recognize four outstanding women in the Miami community for the role they play in enhancing international trade and business in South Florida through their professional, and/or community activities.




Photo: Networking by the sponsor tables

The winners of the 2011 IBWOY Awards by category were:

Large CompanyRomaine Seguin, President, UPS Americas


Photo (L to R): Carmen González-Sanfeliu (2010 winner), Marian de la Fuente (MC), Romaine Seguin (2011 winner), Jennifer Diaz (OWIT past president), Valeria Prado (IBWOY Chair), Silvia Prado (IBWOY Chair).


Small to Medium Sized CompanyJoan Levien Robertson, President, Robertson Forwarding Co. Inc.


Photo (L to R): Patricia Hernandez (2010 winner), Marian de la Fuente (MC), Joan Levien Robertson (2011 winner), Jennifer Diaz (OWIT past president), Valeria Prado (IBWOY Chair), Silvia Prado (IBWOY Chair).


ServiceBarbara Pimentel, President, Florida Customs Brokers and Forwarders Association Inc.


Photo (L to R): Pamela Fuertes (2010 winner), Marian de la Fuente (MC), Barbara Pimentel (2011 winner),Jennifer Diaz (OWIT past president), Valeria Prado (IBWOY Chair), Silvia Prado (IBWOY Chair).

International Lifetime Service Award: Linda Santucci, Senior International Trade Specialist, Miami U.S.Export Assistance Center


Photo (L to R): Valeria Prado (IBWOY Chair), Linda Santucci (2011 winner), Barbara Pimentel (2011 winner), Jennifer Diaz (OWIT past president), Silvia Prado (IBWOY Chair), Marian de la Fuente (MC).

Marian de la Fuente, renowned Anchor, TV Host and published author, was Mistress of Ceremonies and Cynthia Hudson, Senior VP and GM of CNN en Español and Hispanic Strategy for CNN/U.S. was the Keynote Speaker. Hudson addressed a crowd of over 200 attendees, sharing her personal testimony and advice for both seasoned and up-and-coming business women in the crowd.



Photo: Keynote address by Cynthia Hudson, Senior Vice President and General Manager, CNN en Español and Hispanic Strategy for CNN/U.S.

In addition to honoring this year’s winners, over $4,000 was raised during the event’s silent auction which featured items such as roundtrip airfares tickets, hotel stays, spa treatments, unique art pieces and jewelry, among many others. Proceeds from the silent auction funded scholarships for two young women pursuing a degree in International Business at Florida International University and University of Miami.



Photo: Silvia Prado (IBWOY Chair), Yannick Thams (FIU scholarship recipient), Rosalina Das (UM scholarship recipient)

Photo: bidding on items at the silent auction

The event also provided an opportunity to recognize past OWIT President, Jennifer Diaz for her multiple contributions to the OWIT-South Florida Chapter during her two-year term (2010-2011), as well as introduce the incoming OWIT President, Audrey Neilsen (2012-2013).


Photo (L to R): Audrey Nielsen (OWIT incoming president) and Jennifer Diaz (OWIT past president)

 The 2011 IBWOY Awards would not be possible without the talent of the external panel of judges who carefully vet through multiple entries in each category to select the winners. The 2011 IBWOY judges were Ken Roberts (WorldCity Business), Lesa Forbes (Miami U.S. Export Assistance Center, and Deborah L. Wilkinson (Office of Economic and Small Business Development).

 Additionally, the event would not be a success without the countless hours and dedication from the IBWOY Committee who volunteer their knowledge and time to put together the event.


Photo: 2011 IBWOY Planning Committee.

From L to R: Andrew Quarrie, Valeria Prado, Gladys Mezrahi, Pat McLeod, Vielka Quintero, Jennifer Diaz,Sarah Deben, Marti Mang, Audrey Nielsen, Catherine Busot, Silvia Prado. Not pictured: Suely Argianas, Patricia Beitler, Barbara Bettman, Ava Borrasso, Kendra Link, Marcela Nava, Michelle Yong

The OWIT IBWOY 2011 Awards were possible thanks to the generosity of our sponsors and donors:




To view all event photos visit OWIT’s 2011 IBWOY Facebook page

2011 OWIT South Florida IBWOY (International Business Woman of the Year) Event Flyer